top of page

Blog Entry 22 - [FRUIT, BOOM!] Brainstorming for the Game

Updated: Mar 23, 2023

For the multiplayer game which we will design this semester, as a game designer, my other designer teammate Tim and I started by thinking of fun ideas and then we will discuss to push which one to future development.


Here are my ideas:

Idea 1:

Type: Third-person shooting + party game shooting + Battlefield

Content: Each player is a type of fruit (character), at the beginning of the game, each player will be assigned 1 juice and they need to make this juice (contains 2 or 3 or 4 fruits depending on the player's numbers), also they will need to collect some toppings for this game




Some Key Points:

  • There are 5 maps, every time game starts, 1 of them will be chosen automatically (those maps are designed in detail)

  • They start from the same point, the first 1 minute will be protection time, and they cannot shoot During this time, they can either find a place to hide or try to be the first to reach the end (Inside the level, there will be: ocean, desert and ice land)


  • Length: 5-10 minutes, quick & tense

  • How to win? (Multi-ways to win the game so that more players will feel satisfied)

Screen capture from Miro

A little secrete about this idea: This idea came from one of my dreams. One day I had a long discussion about what we should design with my teammate Tim and I tried to find some inspiration from the internet but I failed. As a result, I kept thinking about this for the rest of the night and even when I go to bed. Somehow the moment in the early morning when I was about to wake up, I found myself inside a game world where I am one of the fruits and was shooting others to make mixed fruit juice out of them. When I woke up at last, I quickly wrote down this idea about fruit juice making and continue developing this idea.


Recently I find the idea that your brain will do some work even if you are sleeping (from one of the online courses that I'm studying). I guess that's the reason that I dreamed about a game that I kept thinking about for a long time, my brain combined all the information I went through during the daytime and continues working when I was asleep.




Idea 2:

Type: escape + puzzle + story

Content: maximum 4 players, escape from the dream world and Story-based.


Game story:

There is a main storyline, but on each level, there are small stories. Players will need to make choices and these choices will lead to different experiences


Game Levels: (10 levels, each level has its theme)

  1. full of glass

  2. full of metal

  3. contains water

  4. black and white

  5. colourful lights

  6. 2D & 3D

  7. ...

each level has its mechanics: (the player's form is related to the story or background of that level)

  1. players are invisible

  2. players are rats (combined with sewer experience)

  3. players are the flies

  4. ...


replayability: (as a story-based game normally lacks replayability)

The players can't play all of these 10 levels at one time. For example, the players may play 1,2,5,8,10, and after 1 and 2, the story leads them to level 5. (this can only enhance a few more times of play but will still have a maximum time of play)


I went on the internet and found there are many similar games. However, those games mainly concentrate on the horror part and if I were going to design this game, I will pay more attention to the level details, adding a touching story and adding abilities to all of the players.



Screen capture from Miro


Conclusion:

When I type why do you play multiplayer games into the search engine, the most result I found in one of the posts is "for fun, for happy". Also, people are more mentally active when they play games with other people than when they play alone.


For these 2 ideas of the multiplayer game, I think the fruit game might have more potential as it can have really good replayability and it's a fun party game that allows all types of players to play. For the puzzle-solving and room escape game, although it can be developed further, somehow the audience is limited due to it might contain horror, and the replayability is also limited.


As a result, the fruit game provides more intended audiences and may have a wider market compared to the puzzle-solving game.



Image References:

https://pin.it/43wFJV9


Our Miro board link:

https://miro.com/app/board/uXjVPtahisM=/

1 view0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page