top of page

Blog Entry 30 - [FRUIT, BOOM!] Level Design - The Water Level (2)

Updated: Apr 30, 2023



Rough plan for the 6 faces


Continuing with my level design of this water level, I drew simple bubble diagrams to show the different designs of the faces of the cube (demonstrated below).



Centralised A:

Bubble diagrams of Centralised A face

In the beginning, I followed the basic pattern and drew the bubble diagrams (image above left). After that, I think it was too boring and symmetrical, so I started to redraw it and make it less boring (image above right). I added the black deep water zone, where players can't normally cross but can cross it by jumping from a higher position (on top of a high platform for example). As a result, this centralised face is now divided into 2 parts by the water, one is a tense fighting area and another is a remote shooting or chasing and hiding area.


By changing the props spawn area, the main battleground is now shifted to a more right-down area. A bridge is designed to provide a channel for players to cross the water.


After this version of the bubble diagram, I started to do some blocking in the software (image left). At this stage, things are all in a pending mode, detailed designs will take place after the 6 faces are designed.









Linear A:

Bubble diagrams of Linear A face

First of all, I changed the initial very linear ice grids to a more curved linear track, this allows more flexibility and makes the battleground more active. Also by adding 2 deep water zone at the right-up area, the player's movable space is blocked. This might lead to a sense of asymmetrical that I was trying to create.

The blocking stage is shown above.





Discrete A:

Bubble diagrams of Discrete A face

I also changed this map into a map where the choke points are different in size (by designing the different sizes of the ice areas), also by adding the 2 deep water zone, I'm limiting the way for the players to travel between these 2 half-spaces.


The blocking stage is shown above.




Centralised B:

Bubble diagrams of Centralised B face

I added deep water on the 2 and a half sides and designed shooting platforms on the 3 corners. Designing a deep water zone in between the shooting platforms, forces players to cross the centre ice area if they want to change to new places, and this will lead to more tense fights in the centre area.


The blocking stage is shown above.




Linear B:

Bubble diagrams of Linear B face

For this linear B map, instead of having 2 same rectangular spaces, I moved the ice line towards the right so that I can create more space on the left for the players to fight or hide. A larger platform-based area is on the left side so players might have the chance to jump and change to stand on the different heights of the platforms.


The blocking stage is shown above.




Discrete B:

Bubble diagrams of Discrete B face


For this map, from the original design, I added the deep water zone randomly but not symmetrically. Also, I made the central shooting platform larger, this can act as a barrier in the centre area, and players might not see the condition across this centre shooting area.


The blocking stage is shown above.



Conclusion

These are all initial plans for the water level, I will add the props to these 6 sides and also follow my main design ideas. At this stage, it's difficult to test this level due to the programming of the basic mechanics are not ready yet but I will test this map and do changes once the mechanics are finished. If the testing is good, then I might change this level from blocking to the kitchen models that I wanted to use for this level.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page