top of page

Blog Entry 34 - [FRUIT, BOOM!] Level Design - The Water Level (3)

Updated: May 4, 2023

This week, I went back to my water level and added the platforms and small collectable props.


First of all, I thought this level already has the deep water and ice zone, those can be seen as fixed large scene props, so I will not add large interactable props to this level. Instead, I will create some platforms for players to jump onto and also act as a partition when they are trying to cover themselves from others' attacks. To do this, I started a little analyse so that I can have a better sense in my mind when I place these platforms. There is not much time left, so I will not add the kitchen models to this level, I will concentrate more on the level that will be prototyped.



Simple Analysis of the platforms

1 Side Platforms

- Low Wall


2 situations after rotation:


  • able to shoot others through 5 sides (top, down, front, left, right)

  • will be shoot by others easily from all the 3 sides

  • totally exposed




  • continues to fall unless reaches another platform





- High Wall

2 situations after rotation:


  • able to shoot others through 4 sides (top, front, left, right)

  • will be shoot by others easily from all the 3 sides

  • totally exposed




  • continues to fall unless reaches another platform







2 Side Platforms

- Low Wall


2 situations after rotation:

  • able to shoot others through 5 sides (top, down, right, left, front)

  • will be shoot by others easily from all these sides






  • continues to fall unless reaches another platform





- High Wall


2 situations after rotation:



  • able to shoot others through 3 sides (top, front, left)

  • will be shoot by others easily from all these sides





  • continues to fall unless reaches another platform







3 Side Platforms

- Low Wall

2 situations after rotation:


  • able to shoot others through 5 sides (top, down, right, left, front)

  • will be shoot by others easily from all these sides







Conclusion on analysis

After this, I suddenly realised I don't need to make all those different analyses among all those tall and low walls because this will make the whole design too complex and unnecessary, and the players don't have crouch ability. Also, I cannot design everything in that detail because I could never be certain of the player's actions in the game. Therefore, I decided just use those shapes randomly and place them in the areas that I think could be interesting.



Props in this Level

There are 4 types of props at this level, they are listed below:

  1. the Steam: Player A can use it to block Player B's vision for 3 seconds

  2. the Confusion Glasses: Player A can use them to make Player B's left and right directions reverse

  3. the Hammer: Player A can use it to switch the position with Player B

  4. the Transfiguration Powder: player A can pick up it and use it on any other players (assume player B), Player B will become the appearance of Player A (lasts for 15 seconds)



Final Outcomes

Centralised A:


Centralised B:



Linear A:



Linear B:


Discrete A:


Discrete B:



About Finishing Platform

In this level, as the cube will rotate during the game, I wanted the finishing platform to be randomly generalised on the side that is currently active. So each time the cube rotates, a random 1x1 unit will be the finishing platform.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page